Chronicles of a long distance runner. pt3


How great is your why?

I have always embraced the belief that the question why, is the most important question. Ever. Your whys open up endless possibilities as much as it creates more why? Confusing? Why?

It is now 0342 hours in the morning. I was up from 2432 hours. My mind was willing but the body was not. Sleep eludes me and while i sat in my comfortable chair, rain came down in three short and quick bursts. Was nature urging me to get up? Should i stay or go? Nah! i must get up to run.

Why?

Because i have a goal. And i have to meet that goal. And today is day eleven of my reset of the past reset. Ready reset…go!

This is the second day of struggle over my surgical knee complaining. Also the first day i was actually listless and unmotivated. But today is day eleven of my reset. What could i do? Well what is my reason for doing this shit. Getting up at 1:00 a.m and getting ready to go running in the dark.  My why became my fuel. My why became stronger than my how, because my why made me find a how. There is a form of running developed way back in the seventies called Fartlek, which means “speed play” in Swedish. Fartlek training “is simply defined as periods of fast running intermixed with periods of slower running.”

In my case it was power walking intermixed with periods of regular running. As soon as the knee started protesting I walked. As soon as it felt better, I ran. Simple. And I finished with a better feeling of accomplishment than I did yesterday.

Have you ever felt at a point questioned yourself about something you are doing and why you are doing it? This is the famous cross roads every person arrives at in their lives. At this point your WHY becomes your reason. Why are you doing this.  From that question will come your answer. Whether the answer is superficial or felt  deep down to the core. The how is easy when the why is honestly asked and honestly answered.

How real is your why? How strong is your why?

Leave a Reply

